Exhibit Galore.

076be9089c9c11e39320122adf243e91_8

So the only day that I feel I have money is pay day. You know that feeling you purchase a bottle of wine that isn’t the cheapest on the shelf. It’s reassuring relaxing with a glass of vino that doesn’t taste like perfume.

I try really hard to budget my money without feeling as if I’m missing out. I usually spend money on all things fashion and food. This weekend after getting rid of my HORRID cold, a friend and I decided it was the perfect weekend to head to a couple art/fashion exhibitions.

Beware there are some exhibition spoilers.

e6428c8e9ca311e396e612465fd22ea2_8

Richard Hamilton Exhibit. I would really recommend going to see this! Hamilton was one of the founding figures of Pop Art, although it wasn’t what i expected. There were pieces which of course I have seen in many art books yet there were so many pieces which I would have never realised were Hamilton’s. I saw so many pieces that had beautiful colours and interesting subjects!

Here are some of the images spotted around at the exhibition and at the Tate Modern.

IMG_7798

IMG_7803

IMG_7804

IMG_7805

After spending a few hours roaming around the Modern we headed to The Design Museum to the Paul Smith exhibit. This was good, but a bit on the small side. I also thought that you couldn’t really call it a fashion exhibition as there was only a maximum of 12 garments. We got to see other aspects of Smith’s work but it was slightly disappointing when you’re going there to see work from a great designer and seeing his photo collection.

d484e58c9ca311e3bc3c1212b0eafdfe_8

Top Tips on how to save money:

1.Take a packed lunch with you. It is crazy how much museums try and charge for a soggy sarnie and slice of cake. Take lunch and a bottle of water, if you do have a bit of spare cash you can always buy a coffee when your feet start to ache.

2. With most Museum charges they add extra as a donation fee – you don’t actually have to pay this, you don’t even get judgmental looks when you ask not to pay the donation fee.

3. Travel can gobble up a lot of money too. If you are local to London an Oyster Card is probably the best way to travel. If you have any railcards you can connect it to your Oyster Card thus a cheaper day. If you are driving to London then there are places around Richmond and Ealing where you can park for free – or you can find cheaper car parks.

4. Exhibition books. I love buying exhibition books from exhibits I find inspiring, however the museum shops obviously are super expensive. I have a QR reader app on my phone. This enables me to scan the bar code and it will find the cheapest website. I do buy postcards when they are available of my favourite paintings/photographs.

I hope my tips helped! Have you seen any good exhibitions recently?

Leave a Reply

