That Gym thing….. #ThisGirlCan

tumblr_nideoxuTAY1s7recqo1_1280

Just after Christmas I announced that I was joining the gym, it has been tough I’m not going to lie, but after 3 weeks I have gone at least 4 times a week, which I’m pretty proud of!

Of course there are so many emotional stages of joining that any non fit gym goer will understand. For me, half of my nerves were about the door not opening or the showering situation after class, or the fact that although I am slim I’m horrendously unfit and don’t even come close to touching my toes! To be honest I thought that I was the only one with these thoughts. Recently however I read an article that say 75% of females between 14-40 want to be come more active but that insecurity is a big obstacle. The strongest theme was being judged for being the wrong size, not fit enough or not skilled enough.

Sports England have launched a new campaign to motivate brits to get more fit showing a range of ages and skills, the only thing they have missed off is all sizes. The advert features mainly full figured women, when of course super slim girls also have insecurities too. The video has been viewed two million times in less than a week. Which is great and hopefully it is inspiring females to get their trainers on and reach that level of fitness and feel good.

My favourite classes are spin and legs bums and tums. I also do Abs Attack and this week I will be doing kettlebells for the first time. Work has been crazy busy so between meetings and prepping for meetings actually leaving work at a reasonable time has been one of the biggest obstacle to overcome. I have to say that I am surprisingly enjoying it too. I am someone who would rather sit in bed watching the Avengers with microwaved doughnuts and nutella – but who wouldn’t. I’ve traded in this all to sweat, go an obscene shade of red and ache like a bitch for most of the week.

I think it is all about setting yourself a reachable goal. If you’re wanting to lose a stone, then you need to give yourself time to do this and not crash diet and starve your body. I’m hoping to lose a bit of weight and tone up for a summer holiday, giving myself 6 months to hit the gym hard and not feel guilty about spending 3 hours at all you can eat dim sum, because you know it happens to the best of us.

Have you watched #Thisgirlcan video yet? What are your thoughts? Watch it here

Leave a Reply

